Let’s start from the beginning

Hello everyone. This marks my 3rd blog chronicling my international adventures and I couldn’t be more excited to start. You can read my previous Malawi and Botswana blogs.

Who am I? Let’s pretend for a minute that my mom isn’t the only one reading this blog. My name is Hayley and I just finished my third year of medical school at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.

What am I up to this year? I am taking a year off between my third and fourth year of medical school. This time I am having a unique experience and (gasp) it won’t include an African country. I am honored to report that I have been selected as the 2013-2014 Stanford-NBC Global Health and Media fellow. This fellowship, open to all medical students/residents/physicians gives one person the opportunity to gain experience in the field of global health journalism. So what does that actually mean? It means that I get to hop all around the globe and do some fantastic things.

  1. Haiti:  starting my experience with a quick trip to Haiti to visit Hospital Bernard Mevs at the beginning of June.
  2. India: I will spend ~3 months (July-Sept) in New Delhi working for the WHO (World Health Organization) regional office (SEARO).
  3. Journalism School @ Stanford: (Sept-Jan)
  4. NBC:  (Jan-June): I will be working at NBC studio (30 Rock!) in NYC, embedded with Dr. Nancy Snyderman, chief medical editor for NBC.

Along the way I will be updating this blog with my experiences (the good, the bad and the ugly) and thoughts.

4 thoughts on “Let’s start from the beginning

  1. Dear Hayley,
    Wow! I always knew that you were destined for great things! When I knew you, back when you were 8, I recall a very curious, intelligent and tremendously kind girl… Look at you now, a doctor (doesn’t surprise me hello to mom and dad) but you’re a doctor traveling to some of the world’s neediest places. Ah, yes, even in second grade you possessed a sense of social justice and compassion for others. I’ll look forward to reading of all your experiences, Hayley. Stay safe, be well.
    With much care,
    Jean Griot
    (Your second grade teacher)

Leave a Reply

